skip navigation

Underwood Boys Take 2nd in 6A Golf, Qualify Swonger and Risbrudt for State

By Craig Olson, 06/03/22, 12:15AM CDT


The Park Christian Falcons won the Section 6A boys’ golf title with a two-day total of 708 (348-360), finishing 33 strokes ahead of the runner-up Underwood Rockets (373-368=741).  Ortonville took third place with a 767 (380-387) and Hillcrest Lutheran Academy was fourth with a 786 (387-399).

“I’m very proud of how our boys played throughout the season and throughout the Section Tournament,” said Underwood Head Coach Chuck Ross.  “A second place finish in the Section Tournament is the best in Underwood golf history.  Congratulations to Trevor Swonger, Hudson Risbrudt, Landon Ecker, Jaxon Swonger, Griffen Gunderson and Tyler Herr for accomplishing that.”

Underwood senior Trevor Swonger claimed medalist honors with a 163 and Tanner Doeden of Park Christian was second with a 166.  Hudson Risbrudt (176) of the Rockets also qualified for state with his third place finish.  Andrew Ysteboe and Colin Kerrins of Park Christian, Dawson Wienbar of Breckenridge and Owen Longnecker of Ortonville all qualified with scores of 179.  Dru Boots of Ortonville also qualified with a 182.

“Trevor won his second Section championship in a row under tough conditions,” noted Coach Ross.  “The wind was a major factor and after being down 4 strokes with 8 holes to go he buckled down and found a way to win by 3 strokes.  Hudson, who is only a freshman, ws in seventh after the first day and he played one of his best rounds of the season today, shooting an 85 to place third overall.  That was quite an accomplishment.”

Other boys’ scores by team:
Landon Ecker 196, Jaxon Swonger 206, Tyler Herr 222, Griffin Gunderson 235

Ottertail Central
Carter Dilly 188, Riley Bode 193, Nathan Hillman 197

Erik Bjorndahl 187, Thor Ewan 189, Sean Berge 192, Preston Berge 219, Christian Swensen 224

Border West
Nolan Wilson 183, Cole Gilsdorf 185, Zachery Hansen 224

Carson Weiers 196, Conrad Stockinger 205

Traeton Nelson 197

Mark Wermerskirchen 200

Bo Biever 192, Layne Henrich 214, Jonas Henrich 241